A marvelous journey through the mad, manic, seductive subculture of wine and wine lovers.
— Susan Orlean, author of The Orchid Thief
[A] brilliant feat of screwball participatory journalism...
— Jay McInerney, author of The Juice
I loved this book.
— Mary Roach, author of Gulp
Delightfully written and keenly observed
— Walter Isaacson, author of The Innovators
Reading Bianca Bosker is like sitting down with a brilliant, curious friend.
— Lauren Collins, author of When in French
The Kitchen Confidential of wine.
— Madeline Puckette, Wine Folly

For readers of Anthony Bourdain, Susan Orlean, and Mary Roach, a surprising, entertaining and hilarious journey through the world of wine

Amateur drinker and professional tech reporter Bianca Bosker didn’t know much about wine—until she stumbled on an alternate universe where taste reigned supreme, a world of master sommeliers who could, after a single sip, identify the grape a bottle was made from, in what year, and where it was produced, within acres. Where she tasted “wine,” they detected not only complex flavor profiles, but entire histories and geographies. Astounded by their fanatical dedication and seemingly superhuman sensory powers, Bosker abandoned her screen-centric life and set out to discover what drove their obsession, and whether she, too, could become a “cork dork.” 
 
Thus begins a year and a half long adventure that takes the reader inside elite tasting groups, exclusive New York City restaurants, a California mass market wine “factory,” and even a neuroscientist’s fMRI machine as Bosker attempts to answer the most nagging question of all: what’s the big deal about wine? Counterintuitive, compulsively readable, and hilarious, Cork Dork illuminates how tasting better can help us live better—and will change the way you drink wine forever.

* * *

"An 18-month immersion in the study of wine, teaching us not just about what to look for in the glass, but how to experience the world in a new way...Always perceptive, curious, and entertaining, the author describes her experiences with precision and a wry sense of humor...Readers will certainly come away from the book knowing more about wine and likely eager to explore it further, but even those less inclined to imbibe will be intrigued."  –Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“A page-turning and fascinating memoir…Bosker’s mix of science, food writing, and memoir will be enjoyed by many.” –Publishers Weekly